Tuesday, May 30, 2017  
Account Login  

  need help?  
Search By Keyword
Breaking News Alerts
Email Alerts
Email Address
Text Alerts
Mobile Number
 )  - 
Mobile Provider
standard messaging rates apply
Cassady wins commission seat
9/12/2013 1:16:21 PM
Last Updated:
4/4/2017 7:26:33 PM

by Scott Cloud/Newkirk Herald Journal

Dereck Cassady was elected as the new Newkirk city commissioner Tuesday.

Cassady defeated Kacie Randolph and John Randolph in a light voter turnout.

Cassady received 78 votes while Kacie Randolph received 43 votes and John Randolph received 18 votes.

The election results will be official at 5 p.m. Friday at the Kay County Election Board office at the Kay County Courthouse.

Cassady replaces Kirk Brown who after serving six years on the city commission chose not to seek re-election.

He will take the oath of office at the April 10th city commission meeting.

Had a run-off been needed, the election would not have been until September due to a change in the state election laws as to when a municipality can hold elections.

A run-off would have been caused had no candidate received more than 50 percent plus one vote.

Both Kasie and John Randolph were entering city politics for the first time, Cassady ran for city commission in 2016 but was defeated by current commissioner Jack Bagg.

The current city commission consists of Justin Beard, mayor, Jack Bagg, commissioner; and Dereck Cassady commissioner.

Jane Thomas is the city manager.

Visitor Comments

Current Conditions
Newkirk, OK
Radar & More >>
click ad below for details
  • Show All Ads